New winners crowned at the Safaricom Mombasa International Marathon

Dismas Ewet celebrates as he crosses the finishing line to emerge the winner in men category Safaricom Mombasa international marathon. The Eldoret based athlete finished in 2.16.52 ahead of Arit Kigen and Abraham Too in number two and three respectively.


Dismas Ewet and Peris Cherono are the winners of the 42Km race at the 35th edition of the Safaricom Mombasa International Marathon held today in Mombasa County.

Ewet clocked 2:16:52 to beat Arit Kigen who came in second at 2:17:45 and third placed Abraham Too at 2:18:31.

“I am very pleased to have won this race today. The race was tough due to hot weather but I managed. I have been training so hard towards this and this is a dream come true.  I will be out training so hard to defend my tittle in the next edition,” said Dismas Ewet, winner 42KM men.

In the women’s 42KM, Peris Cherono crossed the finish line at 2:30:44 followed by Alice Mogire at 2:32:43. Elizabeth Rumokol came in third clocking 2:32:53.


Peris Cherono celebrates as she crosses the finishing line to emerge the winner in women category Safaricom Mombasa international marathon. Peris finished in 2.30.44 followed closely by Alice Mogire 2.32.43 and Elizabeth Rumokol 2.32.53



“This is my first time to win a marathon and I really thank God for this. The competition was stiff with a lot of heat from the sun but I did well. I am looking forward to the Beijing Marathon next year and hope to produce good results,” said Peris Cherono, winner 42KM women.

In the 10KM race, Stephen Mwendwa retained his title in the men’s category crossing the finish line in time of 33:17:39. He was followed closely by Daniel Kayiok in time of 33:34:00 and Kipkorir Birir  in time of 33:40: 6.

Naomi Jepngetich won the 10KM women’s category finishing at 35:14:17 followed by Nancy Rotich at 36:48:30 and Judith Cherono at 36:48:30.

Ewet and Peris each won KES 500,000 while the 10 Km winners Stephen Mwendwa and Naomi Jepngetich each pocketed Sh 40,000.

Athletes of different ages participated in the marathon including 72 year-old Nashon Kamau from Kikuyu who finished the 10KM race at 1:15:28 beating a number of young athletes.

Other participants in the 10KM race included Hon. Anthony Kiai of Mukurweini Constituency, Joshua Kandie of Baringo Central Constituency and nominated MP Sammy Serone.